Posted by Jeremy Shulkin

Twiztid, a “horrorcore” hip hop group affiliated with the Insane Clown Posse’s Psychopathic Records, came to the Palladium on Feb. 20th. According to this article from ABC News* we all could have been murdered by their fans.

After a series of murders and other violent acts linked to their followers, Juggalos are now classified as a gang in Utah, Arizona and Monroe County, Pa.

“I don’t want people to go out there and look at every Juggalo and say, ‘Oh, he’s a gang member, he’s got a machete and he’s going to slice and dice everybody,'” Vasey said. “But people need to be aware that there are huge issues that have evolved in just the last three years both in the eastern and western United States where we’ve got multiple individuals committing gang-related crimes, gang-motivated crimes, and they’re using the name Juggalo.”

*The article isn’t really noteworthy, I just get a little sensitive when music–no matter how much I dislike it–is immediately blamed for violence. In eighth grade, right after Columbine, I did a presentation on violence in music, which was exciting for me because my parents  wouldn’t let me buy CDs with “Explicit Content” stickers. Even then I could easily see that the cause of a violent crime came from destabilizing factors way beyond what music the criminal was listening to.

